Classification of Weaving Machines

Classification of Weaving Machines

 Looms are classified mainly into handlooms and power looms. The power looms are classified further into the following categories.

(A) Non-automatic power looms these looms have only the basic mechanisms. The following are examples of non-automatic power looms. primary, secondary and some auxiliary

1. Tappet looms
2. Dobby looms
3. Jacquard looms
4. Drop box looms
5. Terry looms.

Classification of Weaving Machines

(B) Automatic looms or conventional automatic looms

To get high productivity and good quality of fabric, additional mechanisms are added to ordinary non-automatic power looms. These looms are becoming popular because of their advantages of versatility and relative cheapness.

1. Pin changing automatic loom
2. 8huttle changing automatic loom

(C) Shuttleless looms or unconventional looms

In the non-automatic and automatic looms, shuttles are used for inserting the weft yams.   In these shuttle-looms, preparation of weft yarn and the weft insertion mech- anism itself limit the loom production and fabric quality; they are also prone to mechanical problems in propelling the shuttle.
Hence loom manufacturers have developed looms with various innovative and alternative means of weft insertion These modern looms are known as "shuttleless looms" and some examples of the looms are:
1.  Air-jet loom
2. Water-jet loom
3. Projectile loom
4. Rapier loom
5. Needle loom .
6. Various other methods include rectilinear multiphase looms.qua
7. Circular looms
These looms achieve higher weft insertion rates because more than one shuttle is delivered at a time. In these looms, the shuttles move simultaneously in a circular path and tubular fabrics are production
Previous Post
Next Post
Related Posts